Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Minne"snow"ta castable build....... I think?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Minne"snow"ta castable build....... I think?

Hello, After lurking for several months I am finally posting. While I am not new to pizza ovens, I am new to undertaking something of this magnitude. Previously, I have built a vermicrete oven that was wonderful (see pics). However, it wasnt as durable as I wanted, and forming it over a gym ball only allowed me enough room for two pizzas at a go. I want something capable of three to four 10" pizzas at a time. So, I am starting a new build. I am planning on using KS-4 Plus as the castable, with 3" of thickness over a firebrick floor, mold would be of sand. Has anyone done a castable of an inside diameter as large as 38"?

Work so far:

Base pad of 5" thickness with 4500PSI concrete, reinforced with remesh, which was left to cure for 10 days.
    Built the block up and filled in the cores with concrete, reinforced with rebar
    Built the form for 4" thick pad of 4000PSI concrete with remesh and rebar for reinforcement. Currently, on day 2 of a 10 day cure, watering each day and covered with a tarp. Plan to remove the side forms in 4 days. Leave the support forms in place for a total of 10 days, before removing.
    Attached Files

Comment

After removing the forms, the next part will be building the perlcrete base under the floor of the firebricks. Any recommendations on the thickness this pad should be? My previous build had it 1 1/2" thick with the firebricks on top.

david s seems like you know your stuff and would be interested in your thoughts.
      Last edited by jakeanderton; 08-05-2022, 09:05 AM.

Comment

Some folk say you can’t have too much insulation, but there comes a point where more doesn’t really improve things as it’s subject to the law of diminishing returns. It also depends on how insulative is the material that you choose.