42" Pompeii Build in Boca

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 42" Pompeii Build in Boca

Hi to all. I have promised to post pics so that others can learn as I did from those who came before them. As an Eye surgeon, I know the value of learning from watching the work of both great surgeons and terrible ones. Hopefully as a mason, I will be at least some of the former, despite being mostly the latter. I will give my novice's pitfalls as I saw them during the build. Step one after downloading the plans: dig a hole. Not too hard, took longer than I thought as do all projects I haven't done in a while. Best advice? Buy a professional wheelbarrow. Needed here and more for next steps. Feel free to laugh, chastise, inform, throw rocks and garbage as we go. I'm nearly done, so it can't be changed anyway...

Re: 42" Pompeii Build in Boca

OK. On to step two. I know that this looks like all the other builds out there (except more messy and poorly constructed), so if you want a different pic or info, let me know. Round two: plastic in hole, rebar raised above plastic, pour enough concrete to fill a swimming pool in hole. Level and screed. Rest hands and back. Advice: LISTEN UP DUMMIES! DON'T DO WHAT I DID AND TRY TO MIX 55 BAGS OF CONCRETE IN A WHEELBARROW. I'M TOUGH, AND IT DAMN NEAR KILLED ME IN GOOD WEATHER! PERSONALLY, I WOULD FORGET THE PERSONAL CONCRETE MIXER TOO!!!! CALL YOUR LOCAL CONCRETE COMPANY AND A PUMPING COMPANY (THE CONCRETE COMPANY CAN OFTEN DO BOTH), AND HAVE THEM DO IT. DRINK BEER OR MARGARITAS WHILE THEY DO IT. PAT THEM ON THE BACK WHEN THEY ARE DONE! LAUGH ALL THE WAY TO THE BANK. THAT'S RIGHT FOLKS, TIMES ARE TOUGH AND THE CONSTRUCTION BUSINESS IS TOUGHER RIGHT NOW. IN MANY PLACES IT IS CHEAPER TO HAVE THE CONCRETE DELIVERED AND PUMPED. YOU ARE GOING TO BE CARRYING LOTS OF CBS BLOCK, REBAR AND HEATSTOP, LET THE OTHERS POUR THE CONCRETE! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!
    Last edited by rlodad; 06-19-2011, 04:05 PM.

Comment

Looking good!