Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finishing my oven

Hi all,

ive now completed all the brick work elements of my oven. Now it’s time to back fill, wrap the ceramic fibre blanket and attach the flue. I few pointers would be nice since I have never done this before. Firstly the blanket I’m going to wrap around with chicken wire. Secondly, what do you guys recommend in terms of finishing on top of the blanket. Lastly, I’ve cut out a whole for my flue I just don’t know what’s the best materials to lock it in. Is there some sort of glue I use first or do I just cover it with a fondu mix.

thanks so much for all the help.

Originally posted by rsshellim View Post
    Hi all,

Now it’s time to wrap the ceramic fibre blanket and attach the flue. I few pointers would be nice since I have never done this before. Firstly the blanket I’m going to wrap around with chicken wire. Secondly, what do you guys recommend in terms of finishing on top of the blanket. .
    I wrapped my dome with four 1" layers of blanket insulation. I laid the first layer of blanket over the dome and where the blanket would 'wrinkle' from trying to conform to the curved surface of the half-sphere, I sliced the insulation. Overlapped one edge of the slice over the other, Then trimmed off the overlapping "V" piece of insulation so the edges would meet nicely and the blanket would lay flat.

I did that to all four layers. I oriented each layer different;y so the seams from one layer did not align with the seams from the previous layer. Once you get the technique down it goes fast. I used most of the V cutoffs to insulate over my landing arch. They tucked nicely into the contours