Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 32 inch Pompeii Build

HEY HEY
    This is My first Pompeii. I now know ( about 85% of the way done ) that i will build another.
    I will try to add an album.
    I am not a professional and everything i did, I researched and gave it my all.

I have had issues thus far.
    I have some Questions regarding the dome rendering.

Question 1 - scratch coat, is that just home mixed mortar?

I mixed 1 part dehydrated lime, 1 part Portland cement, 4 parts mason sand.

That was my first render coat ( is this what they call a scratch coat? )

Question 2 - Is there a different coat/ mixture that goes on now/next?

I am getting a bit confused with Stucco finish, vs scratch coat / brown coat... ugghh.
    I feel that if just put another layer on with the home mixed mortar, but lay off the lime?( take about a quarter of the 1 part lime out on second coat ).. it will be a bit stronger ?
    then put a finishing stucco on that?

Question 3 -and what does everyone use?
    lowes/homedepot stucco finish coat? Homemade mix?

queston 4 - does anyone know, If u use refractory cement over the base coat. would that be wise? or just stick to stucco when i figure all that out?

Thank you in advance for the help!

Attached Files
    A Link to my Pompeii Build - " Mountain Mamma" "https://photos.app.goo.gl/bw61eottTZP36cPGA

https://photos.app.goo.gl/bw61eottTZP36cPGA
    THIS IS A LIKE TO MY PHOTO ALBUMN ON GOOGLE.. I CANT FIGURE OUT HOW TO DO IT ON HERE -_-
    A Link to my Pompeii Build - " Mountain Mamma" "https://photos.app.goo.gl/bw61eottTZP36cPGA

Comment

Add the link in your signature
      Joe Watson " A year from now, you will wish that you had started today" My Build Album / My Build

Comment