Cutting METAL roof.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cutting METAL roof.

I know this is not exactly an oven question, but there are many creative builders on this forum, one of which, may have an answer.

I got some LONG pieces of metal roofing that I would like to cut into 6' pieces to make a lean-to type wood shed. (Okay, I guess this is connected to wood fired ovens after all)

The metal is corrugated so I can't get my electric ( sardine can style) cutter up and down the, roughly 1.5 " sine wave bumps. I may have to use a (ugh) abrasive blade...

If so, what blade works best and is there any shortcuts to the ridiculous noise and sparks and flying hot metal bits?
    This may not be my last wood oven...

Re: Cutting METAL roof.

I do this stuff everyday for a living, and have yet to find a way around the sparks and noise. If you have an angle grinder, or are willing to spend $20 for a cheap chinese one I would go that route. Regardless you want standard thin abrasive cutoff wheels. Let the blade do the cutting, don't force it, and you will save lots of money in blades. If you try and force it and go too fast yo will burn through a blade in no time.

Comment

I'll second the grinder approach with the thin cutoff wheels (4")

DeWALT DW4624 6" X 1/4" X 7/8" General Purpose Metal Grinding Wheel (10 Pack) at PlumberSurplus.com

When you use it you want to take a 4 foot level and draw a pencil line along the underside of the panel. Chalk lines (especially red) are a pain to get off.

When cutting do so in a manner that draws the grinder away from you with the panel on its back belly up. Out in the grass is a good spot. Some take the shield off, BUT BE CAREFUL if you do this.

The drawing away and slight cutting will also save the blade. This is easy once you get the hang of it. Wear Hearing and Eye protection (Face shield is also good) as it is wicked loud and thows out dust.