42" build in Central Texas

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 42" build in Central Texas

Ok I guess I'll do a build thread. So much info and advice here, I be crazy not to let some expert eyes lay on my work!
    Im going to do it all except a couple tasks like the pedestal block which was done yesterday,,,,, Maybe I should have done it myself. My foundation that I poured (65x80) was spot on square, plumb and level but as the mason I hired was finishing up I saw that his block was off my marks by an inch or so. I threw down a tape and he was 1.5" out of square! He looked and looked, measured and re-measured, he gladly re-did the entire left side. Poor guy, no english and Im sure it was an honest mistake somewhere. Laying block isnt like laying stone!
    Im an AC Contractor and it's 102 in Texas so I will be on and off! My son (in a photo here) is in Air Force ROTC going to be a Pilot so Im thinking this will be a good project for us before he goes off. (crying now lol)
    Giving myself 6-8 months but my wife laughs at that and says I'll be done in 3 months! I dont know,,,, the dome is looming, intimidating me, but a couple guys here have done so much work to help, im feeling Ok about it.
    Here is where it sits as of today.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture4646454.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	755.9 KB
ID:	319999

Name:	IMG_0188.jpg
Size:	568.5 KB
ID:	319998

Name:	20130801_181044.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	1.04 MB
ID:	319996

Name:	20130805_182923.jpg
Size:	782.2 KB
ID:	319995
    Last edited by GarnerAC; 08-06-2013, 07:15 PM.
    My build documentary page:
    https://picasaweb.google.com/1011587...iredOvenBuild#

Avoid at all costs that vile spew you see rotting in oil in screwtop jars. Too lazy to peel fresh? You don't deserve to eat garlic." Bourdain

Re: 42" build in Central Texas