Poway, San Diego Build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Poway, San Diego Build

Alright...after A LOT of prep I finally was able to start my 44" Pompeii build (yeah yeah, I know it's not a true "Pompeii", but #GoBigOrGohome.

I've trolled this site for awhile planning my build and (NOTE TO ANYONE THAT HASN'T STARTED BUILDING YET), I wish I had paid more attention to the base, I would have built more support into the interior - oh well, life goes on.

I've learned so much from my endless hours of searching and reading on this site, that I definitely wanted to try and pay if forward and return the countless ideas lessons I've learned here. Also, I retained the most information from Pictures (I'm visual), so I'll try and post as many pictures as possible.

I'm 2 days into the actual oven build and my cuts are already getting better (this is my first time using a tile saw).

Enjoy!

5 months ago...

First, had to select my spot - I didn't want to sacrifice any of my yard space so I decided to build a retaining wall, level out with dirt, compact / tamp, and frame up for my base. I used 5500 PSI concrete and went 6" on the slab for strength.

Comment

2 months ago...

Laid my block out - i spent 2 day arranging, then re-arranging until I got what I thought was my first lay out / shape. I used 3/8th's rebar and filled every cinder block with concrete.

Comment

1 Month ago...

Framed up the top and poured 6500 psi concrete, I used 3/8th's rebar laid out in 1X1" squares for strength.

Comment

1 week ago...

Ordered my insulation from FornoBravo (I later found it cheaper at a local place thanks to a member here, but I already had purchased and didn't want to return).
          Picked up my firebrick and homebrew supplies.
          Made my template, game planned my layout, made my arch and Jig.

Comment