Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 39" (100cm) Pompei Oven Build in Belgium

Hi everybody,

I have started my 1m (39") dome pompei oven build. I am a total masonry noob, but we're going for it anyway. Today my stepson an I poured the slab. 25cm (10") thick. So I guess there's no way back now.

Here in Belgium we are in our 3rd week of virus lock-down, so not so easy to find affordable building material. But on the bright side, we have more time at hand than during the usual social rat-race, and we're staying safe.

We'll keep you posted in this thread.

Attached Files

Welcome to the forum! I build a 39" oven, so if you have any questions about dimensions etc just let me know or make a post and somebody will likely try to answer. Glad you are staying safe - we are trying to do the same here in Washington State.
    My build thread
    https://community.fornobravo.com/for...h-corner-build

Comment

Thanks for the offer JR. On paper, I finished this thing already 6 times :-).

I started on the base. I couldn't find open blocks (especially now). So I settled with hollow blocks with are joined with mortar. Aiming to go for 4.5 layers, which will result in a table height of 100 and an oven height of 108cm (42.5")

Click image for larger version

Name:	010 Building the base.jpg
Views:	918
Size:	939.5 KB
ID:	421001

In case you wonder about the layout, below is an "augmented reality" view of the intended end result. I shortened the wood storage with an extra wall to get more support for the oven.

Click image for larger version

Name:	009 Augmented Reality Test.JPG
Views:	967
Size:	533.1 KB
ID:	421000

Comment

Hi, just starting mine in Tennessee. Will follow you as I am a noob as well and a few clicks behind you in construction. How do you plan to construct your floor? (On top of slab but under fire brick). I am having all kinds of back and forth on what to do there.

Comment